3 things I learned from my first Facebook Ad campaign

I work alongside my boyfriend, selling his artwork online and at comic and anime conventions. This past March we released our latest Pikachu T-shirt, and I suggested we try paid ads for fun. I was a little intimidated by Google Ads so decided to start small with Facebook. Prior to creating the Ads I asked myself questions such as “Who is our audience? Who old are they? What are they interested in? Where do they live? and What time are they on Facebook?”. After doing some research and analyzing who our target market is I began to work on the campaign. Here’s how I set it up:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Schedule: March 4,2016 (10AM PST) – March 6, 2016 (11:59PM PST)

Lifetime Budget: $125

Location: LA, SF, SD, OC

Age: 18-26

After releasing the campaign and analyzing the results I learned 3 significant things:

  1. Less is actually more
    • When money is a a factor, you want each click to be worth it, so narrowing your audience as specific as possible instead of trying to reach everyone will greater increase the possibility of a conversion
  2. Test things out and make changes
    • Towards the beginning of the campaign, our ads were taken down due to excess text on the photos. Once I changed the photo ads and rearranged the order on the photo wheel things we got a few more clicks!
  3. Be Patient
    • Sometimes campaigns don’t go as well as you planned, but don’t get discouraged! There is a lot of information that you gathered to make your next campaign even better. Although over the 1 week campaign we only got one conversion, that was a customer who we couldn’t of reached if it wasn’t for this campaign. I was extremely happy to get my first conversion and I’m taking this excitement and applying it into my next campaign.

Overall this campaign was a great learning experience for me to finally test the waters and teach myself more about creating ads. Each campaign I do in the future I will strive to double the conversion each time. Wish me luck!

-The Marketing Mixologist